inspiremetotally

Inspiration to add life to your day and days to your life

Forgiveness

Leave a comment

The bible speaks of forgiveness throughout many of the books. Even in the prayer that Jesus taught his disciples states, “Forgive my trespasses as I forgive those who trespass against me”. Forgiveness is necessary in order to have a clean heart.

There are times when family, friends, spouses, and coworkers do things to really hurt us. Sometimes the hurt can run deep and last for years. If we are honest with ourselves there are times we think to ourselves I can never forgive him/her for doing that to me again. We can’t live a fruitful and peaceful life if we are walking in unforgiveness. If you need a true reason to forgive then remind yourself that we should forgive because Jesus told us to forgive always.

I approach forgiveness this way; who am I not to truly forgive someone for doing something to hurt me when God forgives me every minute of the day. His grace and mercy allows this forgiveness to transpire. I am not perfect and I am sure many of my actions are not always pleasing to God and I am positive that I unknowingly break commandments, especially when I am walking around in doubt of God’s living and true word. Yet through my countless sins and shortcomings God forgives me and is there with open arms to embrace me. I am not saying that forgiveness is easy but I am saying that it is necessary to be pleasing to God.

Forgiveness is a choice. It is a choice to be free and at peace. Once you forgive a person they no longer have any power over you and you regain control over your emotions and daily reactions to things that trigger the emotion connected to your unforgiveness.

Scriptures on Forgiveness:

Matthew 18:21-22Then Peter came to Jesus and asked, “Lord, how many times shall I forgive my brother when he sins against me? Up to seven times?” Jesus answered, “I tell you, not seven times, but seventy-seven times. (NIV)

Colossians 3:13
Bear with each other and forgive whatever grievances you may have against one another. Forgive as the Lord forgave you. (NIV)

Luke 6:37 Do not judge, and you will not be judged. Do not condemn, and you will not be condemned. Forgive, and you will be forgiven. (NIV)

Dr Lisa L Melton

Author: inspiremetotally

I write because it is my passion. It's what I do everyday it is my God given gift. Writing is love, life and power! I pray my words help someone get through this journey called life.

Leave a Reply

