inspiremetotally

Inspiration to add life to your day and days to your life

Jabez-Enlarge My Territory

Leave a comment

In 1 Chronicles we learn of a man named Jabez. The bible doesn’t go into great detail of his story. We also know that in Hebrew his name means “Pain”. According to the scripture the bible found Jabez to be more honorable than his brothers and therefore he found favor in God. Centuries ago it was very important what you named your child. The name was prophetic and set the stage for how your life would be. Jabez knew the meaning of his name and I am sure it was hard for him to walk around with a name that means pain. Perhaps the labor his mother bore was unbearable and that is why she named him Jabez. Whatever the reason for his given name Jabez didn’t let his name define him or determine his destiny. Instead Jabez pressed into God’s promises and reached out wholeheartedly to him. If you read the scriptures on Jabez you will assume that he was going through some things and those things lead him to pray the prayer below:
Jabez cried out to the God of Israel, “Oh, that you would bless me and enlarge my territory! Let your hand be with me, and keep me from harm so that I will be free from pain.” And God granted his request. 1 Chronicles 4:10

Even though this is a short prayer it is an extremely powerful prayer. Those who pray this prayer in faith receive more blessings than they know what to do with. The story of Jabez is such a blessing and it lets you know that all you have to do is ask and believe and it will be given unto you. Incorporate this prayer in your daily prayer life and watch God move.

Reference
biblehub.com

Resource
Prayer of Jabez by Bruce Wilkinson

Dr Lisa Melton

Author: inspiremetotally

I write because it is my passion. It's what I do everyday it is my God given gift. Writing is love, life and power! I pray my words help someone get through this journey called life.

Leave a Reply

