inspiremetotally

Inspiration to add life to your day and days to your life

Twelve Commandments of Marriage by Dr Lisa Melton

Leave a comment

I am editing another book that I just wrote. I have written My God, My Life, My Testimony, Seasons in Life, a mystery thriller called the Harvestors and now the Twelve Commandments of Marriage.

Here is a snippet of the Twelve Commandments of Marriage.

If you have ever been married or is still married you know that marriage is a job. It takes work daily. It is no easy task to keep a marriage together. No wonder so many people are getting divorced. According to bloomberg.com “the numbers of Americans getting divorced rose for the third year in a row to about 2.4 million in 2012”. God created marriage because He said it is not good for man to be alone. Even though many are married in churches and grew up in a two parent home and experienced a happy family life, many grow up to get divorced themselves. I believe that too many people go into marriage not fully understanding all of the work that it takes to sustain it. There are twelve things that all people must know before they get into a marriage. I call them the Twelve Commandments of Marriage.
Commandment One: Thou shalt know beyond a doubt that your mate loves God. If he or she doesn’t truly love God they will never know how to love you. The infatuation and attraction that drew you two together will not be enough to hold your bond together over time.
Command Two: Thou shalt marry your best friend. If you don’t marry your best friend you will always find someone outside of the marriage to confide in. Once this begins to happen you are opening up the door for a possible long-term disconnect.
Commandment Three: Thou shalt not settle for a fixer upper. Many times we look for someone who has flaws thinking we are going to fix them up and they will then be marriage material. We are not someone elses savior, a person is not a piece of clay to be molded into shape. Either you love them unconditionally or you are just accepting what you will eventually regret.

My book will be available for sale on Amazon.com on April 14, 2014.

Resource
wwww.bloomberg.com

Dr Lisa Melton

Author: inspiremetotally

I write because it is my passion. It's what I do everyday it is my God given gift. Writing is love, life and power! I pray my words help someone get through this journey called life.

Leave a Reply

