inspiremetotally

Inspiration to add life to your day and days to your life

Know or Think

Leave a comment

To know or to think. These words have very different meetings.

According to dictionary.com their definitions are as follows:

know

1. to perceive or understand as fact or truth; to apprehend clearly and with certainty: I know the situation fully.

2. to have established or fixed in the mind or memory: to know a poem by heart; Do you know the way to the park from here?

3. to be cognizant or aware of: I know it.

4. be acquainted with (a thing, place, person, etc.), as by sight, experience, or report: to know the mayor.

5. to understand from experience or attainment (usually followed by how before an infinitive): to know how to make gingerbread.

think

1. to have a conscious mind, to some extent of reasoning, remembering experiences, making rational decisions, etc.

2. to employ one’s mind rationally and objectively in evaluating or dealing with a given situation: Think carefully before you begin.

3. to have a certain thing as the subject of one’s thoughts: I was thinking about you. We could think of nothing else.

4. to call something to one’s conscious mind: I couldn’t think of his phone number.

5. to consider something as a possible action, choice, etc.: She thought about cutting her hair.

I never thought much about the difference in meaning of to know something or to think something. My seven year old was telling me about a movie she was going to be in and said, “so, Peyton, when do you think this will happen?” Peyton said, “think or know mommy?” “I don’t think it, I know it and it will be soon”. “I will make my first $2 million dollars by 2017.” Until I had this discussion with my daughter I never thought about the difference between thinking something and knowing something. To know something there is no doubt involved. You clearly understand and grasp what you know. It is amazing how God uses my baby girl to help me grow in Him.

So on today I encourage you to know what you are worth and what God has for you and move beyond the level of thinking.

Dr Lisa Melton

Author: inspiremetotally

I write because it is my passion. It's what I do everyday it is my God given gift. Writing is love, life and power! I pray my words help someone get through this journey called life.

Leave a Reply

