inspiremetotally

Inspiration to add life to your day and days to your life

Happiness and Joy-What’s the Difference?

Leave a comment

Just the other day I was thinking how it would be wonderful to simply be happy at work.  Then it came to me that I don’t want to just be happy, what I really want is joy.  According to Webster the definition of happy is the state of being happy, an experience that makes you happy.  Did you notice that the definition reads that it is a state of being, an experience?  This lets you know that to be happy is to be overcome by an emotion of happiness that is contingent upon an act, event, or desire.  When I think of joy I think of an internal state that is eternal.  God gives us joy.  When we have joy from God it is always present.  Regardless of what you are going through you still find the will and ability to be able to smile and lift others up.  If you are only operating from happiness then you directed by outside circumstances of how to act, live, and prepare for everyday life.

It is so much better to have joy because joy won’t leave you.  It will burst through the saddest of days and cause you to find that bit of sunshine and peace that will help you carry on.

Which state of being do you find yourself in daily?

Dr. Lisa Melton

Author: inspiremetotally

I write because it is my passion. It's what I do everyday it is my God given gift. Writing is love, life and power! I pray my words help someone get through this journey called life.

Leave a Reply

