inspiremetotally

Inspiration to add life to your day and days to your life

Untitled…

Leave a comment

I’m giving just enough to give me the illusion that I’m free

Free in the eyes of all men and in America, really

In the eyes of some I should still be shackled and forbidden to read

You see with education there came a new black breed and our only purpose is to fulfill their need

In my eyes black is strength, magical, kings and queens

Yet we are still in search of our American dream

I’m held back, pushed down and killed off daily

We march and protest just to say “wait, hold up, what about me”

Just to stop the black people demise

There isn’t anything we haven’t tried

We straighten our hair, some even bleach their skin

It doesn’t matter because on the inside you are still a black man

A black man is threatening even if unarmed

Therefore, any time you see one walking, standing, driving you should be alarmed

By any means necessary get out of harm’s way

That’s why its ok to shoot them all today

This misperception is so unfair

Why does the color of your skin dictate to others if you should care

We are bused out and then back in

They use data from our schools to direct how many jails to begin building

We are slighted, laughed at and used for their entertainment

No one is held accountable, why bother with an arraignment

More and more every day it doesn’t appear that the laws are for us at all

For if we have some trouble who are we to really call

So as we continue our journey and search for our rightful place in this country

We surely won’t get there unless we stand tall by praying on bended knees

For only God to change this movement in our time

Truly we will find freedom and peace with each step we climb

 

 

 

 

Author: inspiremetotally

I write because it is my passion. It's what I do everyday it is my God given gift. Writing is love, life and power! I pray my words help someone get through this journey called life.

Leave a Reply

