inspiremetotally

Inspiration to add life to your day and days to your life

Cinderella, Not Just a Fairy Tale… Spiritual Version

Leave a comment

Another one of my favorite childhood stories was Cinderella. I still love to watch the Disney movie version of it! I just find so much joy in watching a happy ending to everyone’s story. As I recently saw a clip of the movie as my daughter and I was watching a dvd lately it brought back such fond memories for me. Just the joy during that time in my childhood. I even remember going to a store on main street Ahoskie, NC and getting the book from a store called Popes. I read it every day for a long time.

In case it has been a while for you since you have read the book Cinderella, it was all about a beautiful young girl who lost her mom at a young age and the father remarries. The woman the father marries was not a good person and her two daughters were just like her. They moved into Cinderella’s home and took over while her father was away. Sadly to say her father never came back and the step mother ran things as she wanted to.

Now Cinderella started off having a wonderful life. She was loved by her mother and father and her home was filled with love. Cinderella in turned loved all things and all people. Then a turn of events begin to happen and one thing after another turned her perfect, comfortable, loving world upside down. The one thing that didn’t change was Cinderella’s heart. She continued to love all things and all people. As a child reading this book I got just the happy ending part. Sadly to say the events that lead up to her happy ended that stood out to me was the fairy god mother and her finding true love and living happily ever after. All the other aspects of the story never stood out to me as a child, which is probably normal.

As an adult as I reflect on this story I get so much more from it. As an adult I can so relate to her in so many ways. Thank God I haven’t lost my parents but I do relate to the part where your happy home is turned upside down and then you have to find a new normal a new sense of peace to continue to be happy and be about love on this journey of life. For me it was getting married. I thought it would be forever and I would be so happy and one day it was just over. No fixing, no help, just over. When someone comes into your home and their true intentions are not revealed immediately and then the real life with that person begins it can really take you for ride. I mean it can really drain you and put you in a place where you are not sure of who you are or where you are going. A divorce along with other life events turned my world upside down.

But I thank God that because of my faith in Him, that I knew that whatever the situation, it was not my ending to my story. I knew the promises of God and I held tight to His word in my heart and I knew the best was yet to come. Instead of sending me a fairy god mother he sent some praying people along the way to pray for me and instill a sense of victory in me. He also sent me the comforter, the Holy Spirit and the Holy Spirit kept me held up in the presence of God. For I knew that the turmoil was a distraction to get me off route of where God was taking me. I knew that if I held on that the storm would be over and that peace would rush in like a gentle breeze. I know that my story is still being written and I can say that all is well with my soul and that I too am walking into my happy space again with God as the head of all that I do, say, think and want.

So no matter what you are facing and what you are going through just know that it is not how your story will end. God has set us all up for a wonderful life and of course a plan of happily ever after where He is the core. Never give up and never look at where you are presently as where you will always be. God has a divine purpose and He has great plans for you. Hold on to His word and ride out the storms. The love of God will see you through and you will live happily ever after.

Dr. Lisa Melton

Author: inspiremetotally

I write because it is my passion. It's what I do everyday it is my God given gift. Writing is love, life and power! I pray my words help someone get through this journey called life.

Leave a Reply

